Prayer for a loved one with a drug or alcohol problem

Dear Lord, watching someone I love being destroyed by drugs and alcohol seems more that I can bear. My threatening, arguing, rationalizing, and controlling have proved futile. The problem continues, and I am discouraged and frustrated. I realize I am powerless over this problem and powerless over anyone’s life by my own.

Guide my words and action so that I will say and do all I can to hasten recovery. Help me to also detach so that my loved one may admit the problem and seek help. May I take care of what is my responsibility and no more. Above all, Lord, help me let go and let You take care of this and all else in my life. May I never lose faith in Your power. Amen.

Download Family Prayers

I adore comments! Thanks for stopping by to visit.

